Gallup shines at the 2017 Top HAT Awards Gala

Written by Staff Reports Tuesday, 28 November 2017 16:30



The City of Gallup congratulated Ken Riege, General Manager of the Comfort Suites Gallup, for his win as 2017 Hospitality Professional of the Year at the New Mexico Hospitality Association Awards. Riege was chosen because of his exemplary service to his community both as a tourism partner and as an advocate for veterans.

The Top Hat (Hospitality and Tourism) Awards celebrate those who have done exceptional work to elevate the travel, tourism, and lodging industry in New Mexico. The 2017 New Mexico Top HAT Awards Gala is an annual dinner and awards ceremony that celebrates the state's top hospitality and tourism individuals, businesses, and teams, and was hosted by the Hotel Albuquerque on Nov. 14.

Gallup was very well represented at the 2017 awards, and Gallup businesses and individuals were finalists in six categories. These included Gloria John of the Quality Inn & Suites Gallup, a finalist for the Front-of-House Food & Beverage Personnel Award; The Comfort Suites Lobby Veterans Museum, a finalist for Outstanding Attraction; The Gallup Native Arts Market, a finalist for the Best New Experience; and both the Holiday Express Inn & Suites and the Comfort Suites, who were finalists for the Limited Service Hotel of Year Award.

Thanks to donations to the New Mexico Hospitality Association's Silent Auction, the association was able to award five recipients the "Swire Coca-Cola Hospitality and Tourism Scholarship" as a result of their fundraising efforts this year.

Gallup shines at the 2017 Top HAT Awards Gala

Written by Staff Reports Tuesday, 28 November 2017 16:30

Along with Gallup successes, the Grants-Cibola County Chamber of Commerce had an impressive win in the Outstanding Attraction category for the Route 66 Neon Drive Through. They were also selected as finalists for their Grand Canyon Journal Ad in the category of Best Print Campaign, and for Outstanding Event for their Historic Route 66 Fall Fiesta.

For additional information about event winners please visit: <u>http://newmexicohospitality.org/ne</u> wstimeline