Gallup Sun

Monday, Mar 25th

Last update04:50:52 PM GMT

You are here: News Sun News All Democrats file for county seat openings

All Democrats file for county seat openings

E-mail Print PDF

The primary election filing deadline occurred March13, and as usual there will be no Republican candidates. So, the primary election will determine the final winner in the county races.

The most contested race is for county sheriff where the incumbent, Ron Silversmith will be facing a former sheriff, Felix  T. Begay, as well as four other challengers: Robert C. Mazon, Benjamin L. Benally, Matthew K. Hughbanks, and Kenny A. Carabajal Sr.

Candidates running for other county races as follows:

County Commission District 1 - Billy Moore, Sonlatsa Jim-Martin, Olin Kieyoomia and George H. Tolth.

County Commission District  2- Tommy L. Nelson and Walt Eddy.

County Assessor - Kathleen Arviso (unopposed)

Probate Judge - Colbert Sherman, Charley Long Sr., Arlene L, Brown and Janice Begay.

State races are as follows:

State Representative District 5 - Doreen W. Johnson and Kevin M. Mitchell.

State Representative District 6 - Eliseo L. Alcon (unopposed).

State Representative District 9 - Patty Lundstrom (unopposed).

Public Regulation Commissioner District 4 - Lynda Lovejoy, Theresa Becenti-Aguilar and Janese Natasja Yazzie.

District Attorney District 2 - Paula James-Pakkala, John W. Bernitz and Bernadine Martin.

Magistrate Judge District 1 - April J. Silversmith and Johnny A. Greene.

Magistrate Judge District 2 - Robert B. Baca and Virginia A. Yazzie.

Magistrate Judge District 3 - Cynthia C. Sanders and Conrad Baxstro Friedly.

Staff Reports