Gallup Sun

Tuesday, Nov 19th

Last update06:32:00 PM GMT

You are here: News Sun News Local Teacher wins Golden Apple Award

Local Teacher wins Golden Apple Award

E-mail Print PDF

Site visits of teachers that are finalists for the Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching are happening now, and that is a reason to celebrate! Tobe Turpin Elementary teacher Viola Hoskie is a finalist.

Becoming a finalist is a major accomplishment.  Of the 215 elementary teachers nominated this cycle, only 16 have become finalists.

Hoskie expressed her gratitude during the Gallup McKinley County Schools Board of Education meeting Nov. 2.

“I feel thankful for the honor this evening,” she said. “Not sure how I completely

feel about it because its like you are being honored for something that you really love to do. I really love teaching. I love my kids. Iwant the best for them.”

The next step for these incredible educators is a day-long site visit consisting of observations and interviews. It can be a nervous day, but the process makes the finalists feel deeply valued by their communities.

Help us celebrate the 2016 Finalists!  Their schools and their communities should be very proud!


Darlene Arango, Sierra Vista Elementary, Albuquerque

Christine Biree, Carlos Gilbert Elementary, Santa Fe

Brenda Dominguez, Amy Biehl Community School, Santa Fe

Helen Garrett, Cuba Elementary School, Cuba

Grace Hawkins, Monte Vista Elementary, Albuquerque

Agapita Hopkins, Chaparral and Painted Sky Elementaries, Albuquerque

Paula Jackson, Monte Vista Elementary, Albuquerque

Christine Laffler, Bandelier Elementary, Albuquerque

Stacy Lovell, La Jicarita Community School, Penasco

Patricia Martinez, Kirtland Elementary, Albuquerque

Roni Rohr, El Dorado Community School, Santa Fe

Janine Sammeth, El Dorado Community School, Santa Fe

Silvia Sosa de Chavez, Dolores Gonzales Elementary, Albuquerque

Amanda Tapia, Alice King Community School, Albuquerque

Krystal Wood-Kofonow, Monte Vista Elementary, Albuquerque

Stay tuned for the announcement of the Seven Awardees in November.